tabled in the House of Commons on Mar. 17, 1944. This draft, later approved with some modifications by Parliament, was further revised at a Commonwealth Air Conference held at Montreal, Que., and also in discussions with United States authorities.

The final Act of the Chicago Conference contained the text of the following Agreements: the Interim Agreement on International Civil Aviation; the Convention on International Civil Aviation; the International Air Services Transit Agreement;\* and the International Air Transport Agreement.†

It also contained 12 technical draft Annexes. The above instruments were opened for signature on Dec. 7, 1944.

Canada became a party to the Interim Agreement, the Convention and the Transit Agreement. For a number of reasons, very few States became parties to the Air Transport Agreement. The Interim Agreement came into force following its acceptance by 26 States on June 6, 1945, and the Provisional International Civil Aviation Organization (PICAO) was accordingly established. Pursuant to a decision taken at Chicago, Headquarters of PICAO was set up at Montreal, and the first meeting was held on Aug. 15, 1945. Upon the ratification of the Convention on International Civil Aviation by 26 States on Apr. 4, 1947, ICAO superseded the Provisional Organization. In accordance with the terms of the Convention, a decision was taken at the final meeting of the Assembly of PICAO that the permanent seat of the Organization would be at Montreal and the Government of Canada thereupon provided the Organization with suitable headquarters premises. Pursuant to arrangements made with Canadian National Railways, a modern ten-story office building, known as the International Aviation Building. was erected at the corner of Dorchester and University Streets, Montreal, and the Organization moved into this building in August 1949.

The Structure of ICAO.—The International Civil Aviation Organization is composed of an Assembly, a Council and certain other subsidiary bodies, and is staffed with an international secretariat. The Assembly meets annually and is composed of 57 Member States each of which is entitled to one vote. Except in respect of certain specific functions, which are allocated to the Council by the Convention, the Assembly is the supreme authority. The Council is a permanent body composed of 21 Member States elected by the Assembly every three years. Canada was a member of the PICAO Council and has continued to be a member of the Council of ICAO. All Council Member States maintain offices and resident representatives at Headquarters, where the Council is in session for the greater part of the year. The Council is responsible to the Assembly and is the executive body of ICAO. Under the Convention, it has a number of mandatory functions and a wide range of permissive functions which, together, cover the whole field of international civil aviation. In addition, it has the responsibility of deciding disagreements between Member States in regard to the interpretation or application of the Convention and has certain powers for making findings and recommendations in the case of disputes under the Air Services Transit Agreement and the Air Transport Agreement.

<sup>\*</sup> The Transit Agreement provides for the exchange of the first two "freedoms".

† The Transport Agreement includes all five "freedoms": (1) The privilege to fly across the territory of a contracting State without landing; (2) the privilege to land for non-traffic purposes; (3) the privilege to put down passengers, mail and cargo taken on in the territory of the State whose nationality the aircraft possesses; (4) the privilege to take on passengers, mail and cargo destined for the territory of the State whose nationality the aircraft possesses; and (5) the privilege to take on passengers, mail and cargo destined for the territory of any other contracting State and the privilege to put down passengers, mail and cargo coming from any such territory.